Originally dubbed Canyon Padre Trading Post, Twin Arrows Trading Post was put up in the 1940’s motivated by the nearby popular Old Route 66 stop, Two Guns. Tourists and venturers were able to purchase fuel, Route 66 souvenirs, and perhaps enjoy a meal at the attached cafe and diner. Two iconic wooden arrows were erected within the parking lot to lead the way for sightseers and tourists alike. Unfortunately, the construction of a nearby interstate combined with the increasing disinterest of kitschy roadside stops led to the abandonment of the Twin Arrows Trading Post in 1995. The graffiti-ridden rubbled grounds are currently owned by the Twin Arrows Navajo Casino whose most recent refurbishment was of the historic arrows in 2009, still standing to mark this forgotten roadside attraction. No further plans have been announced to reconstruct or reopen the Twin Arrows Trading Post.
© John Marrows All Rights Reserved